betenoire05's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"people are strange, when you're a stranger...\"

Q: So, Chris, How have you spent the first days of 2004?

A: Well, my peeps, let's see. Hmm. After spreading love in the world by sleeping with the pre-adolescent children of strangers, I rushed off to Las Vegas to marry an old grade school chum at an ungodly hour of the morning. Coming to my senses by lunchtime, I got an annullment and some take-out Chinese. Then, I spent the rest of that day watching back to back episodes of the no way this is the Real World and munching on Chex Mix. The following day, I took my sweet baby to a local aquarium, where my happy toddler got to swim with the sharks. It was a fantastic sensory experience for the little guy, and I was in control the entire time. No worries, mate.

Q: Really?

A: Duh. Of course not. Jeez, the world is strange.

So, I survived the trip to Somewhere-in-the-middle, Virginia and the visit with my MIL. Barely. The word divorce may have been mentioned more than twice. The days have all blurred together. Sigh. My poor MIL seems "crazier" each time I see her. She hasn't cleaned her house in a couple of years now. Also, she's a compulsive shopper. Her house is crammed full of "stuff". Lots of stuff. Lots and lots of stuff. Get the idea? Remember, I have children. Lots of children. Lots and lots of children. Children and stuff don't mix well. My neck still pops when I turn my head to the right. Aaargh!

Today is the last day of the boys break. Rejoice and be glad. The little angels have been plotting ways to kill each other for days now. Time for them to return to society and spread the love. Actually, I get gobs of compliments on my boys' "gentlemanly" ways. I think they must save their "best" behavior for me. Go figure.

In keeping with my goal of finding a job in the new year, I put in a few applications on-line at local hospitals. If I don't hear back from anyone in a week or so, I'm going to start knocking on doors. I hate this part. I'm such a big chicken. Really.

12:36 p.m. - January 06, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: